Last updated: September 6, 2026
We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research and rate.
The short version
Our top pick is Frontier Co-op Salt-Free Taco Seasoning, with an Organic Integrity Score of 92 out of 100, because removing the salt does something to the organic claim that no marketing bullet can.
Here is the rule that governs this whole category, and it is not obvious. Under the National Organic Program, salt and water are excluded from the calculation that determines a product’s organic percentage.
Commercial taco seasoning is, by weight, largely salt. So when a seasoning blend claims to be 95 percent organic, that 95 percent is measured across the non-salt portion — which may be a good deal less than the whole packet.
None of this is a loophole in the sense of a cheat. It is written into the regulation, and it applies to every seasoning blend, soup base and brine on the shelf. It is simply not something the packet tells you.
Best organic taco seasoning compared
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() | |
| Product | Frontier Co-op Salt-Free | Simply Organic Mild | Riega Organic | Watkins Organic | McCormick Organics |
| Organic Integrity Score | 92 / 100 | 86 / 100 | 82 / 100 | 74 / 100 | 68 / 100 |
| Salt | None, stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| ETO and irradiation | Both named, twice | Both named | Not addressed | Not addressed | Not addressed |
| Organic wording | “100% organic” | USDA Certified Organic | “Certified organic” | USDA Certified Organic | “Organic ingredients” |
| Dose given | No | No | 1 packet per 1 lb meat | No | No |
| Price | $15.37$0.96 / ounce View on Amazon | $20.04$1.67 / ounce View on Amazon | $16.84$2.34 / ounce View on Amazon | $9.20$1.19 / ounce View on Amazon | $24.90$2.08 / ounce View on Amazon |
Price and availability as of September 7, 2026 1:10 am EDT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Why salt-free changes the arithmetic
Start with what a commercial taco seasoning packet actually is.
The flavor comes from chili powder, cumin, paprika, oregano, garlic and onion. Those are the spices. Around them sit two other categories of ingredient that most people never think about.
Salt, which in many blends is the single largest component by weight. It is doing real work — seasoning meat is most of what the packet is for — and it is also cheap bulk.
Carriers and flow agents, typically maltodextrin or cornstarch to distribute the spices evenly, and an anti-caking agent such as silicon dioxide to stop the powder clumping.
Now apply the regulation. Salt is excluded from the organic percentage calculation. So a blend that is, say, 40 percent salt has its organic percentage assessed on the other 60 percent. The seal is accurate. It is just describing a smaller portion of the packet than a buyer assumes.
A salt-free blend closes that gap entirely. Frontier’s product is salt-free, which means the entire contents of the container are spices, and the organic claim covers all of it.
It also has a practical consequence buyers like for a different reason: you control the salt. Seasoning packets are one of the more common hidden sodium sources in home cooking, and the salt-free version puts that back in your hands.
We covered the same exclusion from the other direction in our comparison of organic salt, where the question is what “organic” can even mean on a mineral that was never farmed.
Ethylene oxide, irradiation, and what organic actually prevents
This is the second thing certification does in a spice blend, and two of these five listings say so explicitly.
Spices are agricultural products that arrive dried, are handled repeatedly, and travel long distances. Microbial load is a genuine food safety issue, and processors reduce it in one of three ways.
Ethylene oxide fumigation. A gas treatment, effective and cheap. It is not permitted for food use in the European Union. In the United States it remains in use under EPA residue tolerances.
Irradiation. Gamma rays or electron beams, which reduce microbial load without heat. Irradiated foods must carry the radura symbol and a statement.
Steam sterilization. Saturated steam under controlled conditions. It is gentler on volatile aromatics than the alternatives and it costs more.
USDA Organic certification prohibits both ethylene oxide and irradiation. Certified organic spices are steam treated or untreated.
So when Frontier says its products are “never irradiated or treated with ETO”, and Simply Organic says its mix is “non-ETO, non-irradiated”, both are restating something the certification already required.
We still credit it, for the same reason we credit “expeller-pressed” on organic oil. It is restating the single most consequential thing the certification does in that category, in language a buyer can act on. Most buyers do not know that organic certification settles the ETO question, and a listing that spells it out has told them something useful.
The other three listings never mention either treatment.
The wording that is not quite the same
Two listings here make one-sentence organic claims, and the sentences are not equivalent.
Watkins says: “USDA Certified Organic.” That is the regulated phrasing, applied to the product.
McCormick Organics says: “Authentic blend of USDA-certified organic ingredients.” That is a claim about the ingredients going in, not a statement of what tier the finished blend occupies.
We want to be careful here, because the difference may be nothing at all. A product may well be fully certified and simply describe itself loosely — brands do this constantly, and we have flagged the reverse case just as often.
But the distinction is real and worth knowing how to read. “Certified organic ingredients” describes inputs. “USDA Certified Organic” describes the finished product, and only the second is the phrasing the regulation attaches to the seal. In a category where the organic percentage is already being calculated on a fraction of the packet, that is a difference worth noticing on the shelf.
A recipe change, announced without being announced
One more piece of listing language deserves attention, because it is unusually revealing.
Simply Organic’s first bullet ends: “Packaging and ingredients may vary; same Simply Organic quality, now with a fresh new look and thoughtfully refined ingredients.”
Read that carefully. It says the ingredients have changed. It does not say what changed, in which direction, or why.
“Thoughtfully refined” is doing a lot of work. It could mean an ingredient was removed, a supplier changed, a filler was dropped or a filler was added. A buyer who liked the previous formulation has been told it is different and given nothing to evaluate.
To be fair to the company: disclosing a reformulation at all is better than silently changing it, and most brands do the latter. We would simply rather read “we removed the maltodextrin” than “thoughtfully refined ingredients.” One is information. The other is reassurance.
What we looked for
We read every feature bullet on every listing in full and scored on what each manufacturer put in writing.
Whether salt content is addressed, given how much it affects both the organic arithmetic and the sodium in your dinner.
Whether ETO or irradiation is addressed by name.
Whether the organic claim describes the product or its ingredients.
Whether the packet gives a usable dose — how much meat one packet seasons — which is the only figure that makes prices comparable across pack sizes.
Whether anti-caking agents and carriers are disclosed. No listing in this comparison named one.
Best overall: Frontier Co-op Salt-Free Taco Seasoning
| Organic Integrity Score | 92 / 100 |
| Salt | None. Salt-free, stated in the title and body |
| Treatment | Never irradiated, never treated with ETO, stated twice |
| Organic claim | “100% organic”, plus certified organic in the title |
| Size | 1 pound bulk |
| Company | Member-owned cooperative since 1976 |
| Best for | Anyone who wants the organic claim to cover the whole container |
The only product here where the organic percentage and the contents of the container describe the same thing.
Because it is salt-free, there is no excluded ingredient sitting inside the packet. The whole weight is spices, and the whole weight is what the certification covers. That is not a marketing distinction; it is an arithmetic one, and it is why this sits at the top.
The treatment claim is stated twice, which is unusual conviction: “100% organic, 100% kosher, and 100% non-irradiated” in one bullet, and “our products are never irradiated or treated with ETO” in the next. Naming ethylene oxide explicitly, rather than gesturing at purity, is the most useful thing a spice listing can do.
The company structure is a verifiable fact rather than a slogan: “owned by stores and organizations that buy and sell our products, Frontier Co-op has been a member-owned cooperative since 1976.” A cooperative ownership structure is a matter of public record. It is also, unlike most brand-history bullets, relevant — a co-op owned by its buyers has a different incentive structure around ingredient sourcing than a brand owned by an investor.
The salt-free formulation has a second benefit worth stating plainly. Seasoning packets are a large and under-noticed source of sodium in home cooking, and this one puts that decision back with the cook. Salt it to taste, at the pan.
Deductions are modest. “Pizzazz” and “south-of-the-border, authentic taco flavors” are copy. No anti-caking agent or carrier is disclosed, though on a salt-free bulk product there is less need for either. And the 1-pound bulk format is genuinely not for everyone — it is excellent value per ounce and a lot of taco seasoning to get through before the volatile aromatics fade.
- Salt-free, so the organic percentage covers the entire container.
- Names ETO and irradiation explicitly, in two separate bullets.
- Lets the cook control sodium rather than the packet.
- Member-owned cooperative since 1976, a checkable structural fact.
- Best value per ounce here by a distance.
- One pound is a lot of seasoning to use before it fades.
- No anti-caking agent or carrier disclosed.
- No dose guidance for how much to use per pound of meat.
- “Pizzazz” and “authentic” are doing no work.
Best for: Frequent cooks who want spices without salt, and value per ounce.
Best small pack: Simply Organic Mild Taco Seasoning Mix
| Organic Integrity Score | 86 / 100 |
| Organic claim | “USDA Certified Organic”, in the product title |
| Treatment | Non-ETO, non-irradiated, named in the body |
| Also claims | Gluten free, vegetarian, kosher certified, non-GMO, no artificial ingredients |
| Heat level | Mild, described as a subtle hint of heat |
| Best for | Households wanting a mild blend with the treatment question answered |
The second listing here to name ethylene oxide, and the only one to state its heat level in a way a buyer can use.
The organic claim is the regulated form, and it is in the product title where a buyer will read it: USDA Certified Organic. The treatment claim sits in the third bullet: “non-ETO, non-irradiated, vegetarian, and kosher certified.” Naming kosher as certified rather than as a bare adjective is a small correctness we credit, even though no agency is named.
“Just a subtle hint of heat” is more useful than it looks. Taco seasoning heat varies enormously between brands, and mild versus hot is one of the two things a buyer actually needs to know. Most listings leave it to the product name.
The deduction is the reformulation notice discussed above. “Packaging and ingredients may vary; same Simply Organic quality, now with a fresh new look and thoughtfully refined ingredients” tells you the recipe has changed and declines to say how. If a company is confident enough in a change to announce it, it is worth naming what changed.
The fourth bullet — “we believe nature knows best”, “pure ingredients and true flavor from real botanicals” — is pure atmosphere. Real botanicals is not a category of thing.
No salt statement, no dose, no anti-caking disclosure, and at 1 ounce it is the smallest quantity here, so check price per ounce against the bulk options before assuming the small pack is cheaper.
- USDA Certified Organic, in the regulated form, in the title.
- Names both ETO and irradiation.
- States its heat level, which most listings do not.
- Kosher certified rather than merely kosher.
- Announces a reformulation without saying what changed.
- “Nature knows best” and “real botanicals” carry no information.
- Smallest quantity here; check price per ounce.
- No salt, dose or anti-caking disclosure.
Best for: Mild-heat households who want the treatment question settled in a small pack.
Best portioning: Riega Organic Taco Seasoning
| Organic Integrity Score | 82 / 100 |
| Dose | Each 0.9 oz pouch seasons 1 lb of meat or meat alternative |
| Pack | Eight individual pouches |
| Certifications claimed | Certified organic, kosher, vegan, gluten free |
| Origin | Made in the U.S. |
| Best for | Cooks who want a repeatable result without measuring |
The only listing in the comparison that tells you how much product a recipe takes.
“Each pouch seasons 1lb of meat or meat alternative.” That single sentence does two things. It makes the product usable without measuring, and it makes price genuinely comparable — eight pouches at 0.9 oz each is eight pounds of seasoned meat, which is a unit a buyer can compare against a bulk jar in a way that ounces alone are not.
It is also the only listing here to acknowledge that people cook meat alternatives, which costs nothing to say and is a small courtesy.
The certification list is complete but unattributed: “certified organic, kosher, vegan, and gluten free”, with no agency named for any of them. “Certified organic herbs & spices made in the U.S.” describes the inputs as certified and states an origin, which is more than most.
What is missing is the ETO and irradiation question, which is the one this category is really about. Certification prohibits both regardless, so the product is fine; the listing simply does not tell you that, and two competitors do.
“Pure, Simple, Clean” heads a bullet, and clean has no definition anywhere in food labeling. No salt statement and no anti-caking disclosure.
Individual pouches also mean more packaging per ounce than a jar, which is a real trade against the convenience.
- The only listing giving a dose: one pouch per pound of meat.
- Pouch format makes results repeatable without measuring.
- Four attributes claimed, plus a stated US origin.
- Acknowledges meat alternatives.
- Does not address ETO or irradiation.
- No certifying agency named for anything.
- “Clean” has no definition.
- More packaging per ounce than a jar.
Best for: Weeknight cooks who want one packet, one pound, no measuring.
Cheapest, correctly worded: Watkins Organic Taco Seasoning
| Organic Integrity Score | 74 / 100 |
| Feature bullets | One: “USDA Certified Organic” |
| Organic claim | The regulated phrasing, applied to the product |
| Size | 7.7 oz |
| Best for | Price, with the correct organic wording and nothing else |
The cheapest product here, with a single feature bullet three words long, and those three words are the right three words.
“USDA Certified Organic.” That is the regulated phrasing, applied to the product rather than to its ingredients. It is exactly what a buyer needs to establish the seal is real, and it is the entire listing.
We keep meeting this pattern and it keeps being instructive. A listing that says one accurate regulated thing outranks a listing that says several unregulated things, and it sits well below a listing that says several accurate things.
At 7.7 oz this is a mid-size container at the lowest price on the page, which makes the per-ounce arithmetic attractive against the 1 oz packets. Against the 1 lb bulk jar it is less compelling.
Nothing else is disclosed. No salt statement, no ETO or irradiation claim, no dose, no heat level, no anti-caking agent, no certifying agency, no origin. A buyer choosing on published evidence knows the product is certified organic and knows what it weighs.
- Uses the regulated phrasing, applied to the product.
- Cheapest product in the comparison.
- Good per-ounce value against the small packets.
- Claims nothing it cannot support.
- A three-word listing body.
- No treatment, salt, heat, dose or origin information.
- No certifying agency named.
- Per ounce it is beaten by the bulk option.
Best for: Buyers who want a certified organic packet at the lowest price and no more.
Biggest brand, weakest wording: McCormick Organics Taco Seasoning Mix
| Organic Integrity Score | 68 / 100 |
| Feature bullets | One: “Authentic blend of USDA-certified organic ingredients” |
| Organic claim | Describes the ingredients, not the finished product |
| Pack | Twelve 1 oz packets |
| Best for | Buyers who want the familiar brand in bulk packets |
The most recognized name in the American spice aisle, with the weakest single sentence on this page.
“Authentic blend of USDA-certified organic ingredients.” As set out above, that describes what went in rather than what the finished blend is certified as. It is not a claim we can call wrong, and it is not the phrasing the regulation attaches to the seal.
We would not make much of this on its own. Combined with the salt exclusion that governs the whole category, it is worth a buyer’s attention: in a seasoning blend, both the wording and the arithmetic are working in the same direction, and neither is disclosed.
The twelve-pack of 1 oz packets is a sensible format for a household that makes tacos regularly, and per packet the price is reasonable. The brand recognition is real and worth something to a lot of buyers.
Beyond that one sentence there is nothing: no treatment claim, no salt statement, no heat level, no dose, no origin, no anti-caking disclosure, no certifying agency.
This is again the pattern where brand equity substitutes for disclosure. A name people already trust does not need to explain itself, and the bullets stop doing any work. On a comparison scored by what the manufacturer published, that puts it last.
- Twelve-packet format suits regular taco cooking.
- Widely recognized and widely available brand.
- Reasonable per-packet price.
- Claim describes the ingredients rather than the finished product.
- A single feature bullet with nothing else in it.
- No treatment, salt, dose, heat or origin information.
- Least disclosure of any listing here, from the largest brand.
Best for: Buyers choosing on brand familiarity and packet convenience.
What we left out and why
Salt-free blends with no organic claim. Several exist and some sell extremely well. They answer the sodium question and not the certification one, and this comparison is about the second.
Single spices. Chili powder, cumin and paprika bought separately give you full control and cost less per use. They are also a different purchase decision. Our comparison of organic dried herbs covers the single-ingredient side of the spice rack, where the questions about treatment and origin apply just as sharply.
Taco kits containing shells and sauce alongside a seasoning packet. The seasoning is a minority of the product and the interesting questions move to the shells.
We also left out blends whose only distinguishing claim was “authentic”, which describes a marketing intention rather than a recipe.
Buying and using taco seasoning
- Check where salt sits in the ingredient list. If it is first, salt is the largest component by weight, and the organic percentage is being calculated on what remains.
- Look for maltodextrin, cornstarch or silicon dioxide. They are carriers and flow agents rather than flavor, and none of the listings in this comparison disclosed them.
- Treat “non-ETO” and “non-irradiated” as useful restatements of what organic certification already requires, not as extra certifications.
- Prefer wording that describes the product — USDA Certified Organic — over wording that describes the ingredients.
- Convert everything to price per pound of meat seasoned, not price per ounce of powder. One brand tells you the ratio; for the rest, assume roughly an ounce of blend per pound of meat.
- Bulk jars beat packets on price per ounce, always. They lose on convenience and on how fast the aromatics fade once opened.
- A salt-free blend is more concentrated in flavor per ounce than a salted one, because none of the weight is salt. Budget slightly less of it.
- Single spices bought separately will beat every blend on price if you are willing to measure.
- Bloom the spices. Add the seasoning to the hot pan with the fat for thirty seconds before the liquid goes in; the aromatics are fat soluble and this is the single biggest improvement available.
- Add liquid after blooming, not before. Most packets tell you to add water; adding it to bloomed spices rather than raw powder is a different dish.
- Ground spices fade. Six months in a sealed jar away from the stove is a reasonable working life, and a one-pound bulk buy needs to be used or decanted into smaller sealed containers.
- With a salt-free blend, salt the meat separately and early. It seasons better than salt arriving with the spices at the end.
What the field adds up to
One listing in five tells you anything about salt, in a category where salt is frequently the largest ingredient and is excluded from the calculation the seal is based on. Two name the treatment question that organic certification exists to settle here. None discloses a flow agent, and none names the body that issued its certificate.
The rule for this category is short. The seal is real and it is measuring a smaller share of the packet than you think. If that bothers you, the salt-free version is the one where the seal and the container agree, and it is also the one where you get to decide how salty dinner is.
Questions about organic taco seasoning
Does salt count toward a product’s organic percentage?
No. Under the National Organic Program, salt and water are excluded from the calculation used to determine a product’s organic percentage. In a seasoning blend where salt may be the largest ingredient by weight, that means the 95 percent threshold is being applied to the remainder rather than to the whole packet.
Can salt itself be certified organic?
Not in the way a crop can. Salt is a mineral, not an agricultural product, so it falls outside what the National Organic Program certifies. That is the same reason it is excluded from the percentage calculation.
Does organic certification prevent ethylene oxide treatment?
Yes. USDA Organic certification prohibits both ethylene oxide fumigation and irradiation, so certified organic spices are steam treated or untreated. A listing that says non-ETO and non-irradiated is restating a requirement of the certification, which is still worth saying because most buyers do not know it.
What is ethylene oxide used for in spices?
It is a fumigant used to reduce microbial load on dried spices, which are handled repeatedly and travel long distances. It is not permitted for food use in the European Union and remains in use in the United States under EPA residue tolerances, on conventional products only.
Why is salt-free taco seasoning better value than it looks?
Because none of the weight is salt, the flavor per ounce is higher, so you use slightly less. It also means the organic certification covers the full contents rather than the non-salt fraction, and it lets you control sodium at the pan.
What is maltodextrin doing in a seasoning packet?
Acting as a carrier and bulking agent, helping distribute the spices evenly and preventing clumping. It is common and generally unremarkable. It is also, in most blends, entirely undisclosed on the listing, and none of the five products here mentions a carrier or anti-caking agent.
Is “certified organic ingredients” the same as “USDA Certified Organic”?
Not exactly. The first describes the inputs; the second describes the finished product and is the phrasing tied to the seal. A product may well be fully certified and simply describe itself loosely, but the distinction is worth reading for, particularly in blends.
How much seasoning should I use per pound of meat?
Around an ounce is the conventional ratio, and one product in this comparison states it explicitly: one 0.9 oz pouch per pound of meat or meat alternative. With a salt-free blend, use slightly less and salt separately.
How long does ground taco seasoning keep?
Roughly six months of good flavor in a sealed container kept away from heat and light, after which the volatile aromatics fade and the blend tastes flat rather than bad. Bulk buys are excellent value only if you decant them into smaller sealed jars.
Organic Connection is reader supported. We read every product listing in full and say plainly when a claim cannot be verified. How we research and rate.





